MARCH 2, 1953

COUNTY OF JOHNSON)(

BE IT REMEMBERED AT A special meeting of the Commissioners' Court of Johnson County, Texas, held on the above mentioned date in the Court House in Cleburne, Texas, the following members were present: Honorable H. G. Littlefair, County Judge; W. M. Coward, Commissioner Precinct No. 1; S. W. Evans, Commissioner Precinct No. 2; V. L. Maddox, Commissioner Precinct No. 3; M. W. Roland, Commissioner Precinct 4, and Louis B. Lee, County Clerk. Among other things they did the following:

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Evans, that all due and properly endorsed bills against Johnson County be allowed and ordered paid as submitted and examined in open court. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Evans, Seconded by Commissioner Roland that the Cleburne National Bank of Cleburne, Texas, be designated County Depository for County Funds and County School funds for 1953 and 1954. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Evans, that all bids for a truck for Precinct No. 4, be rejected. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Coward, that J. P. Seroyer be appointed delinquent Tax Collector for Johnson County at the salary of \$2178.00 per year, and expense allowance of \$480.00 per year, payable in equal monthly payments beginning Jan. 1, 1953 hereby rescinding Court order dated Feb. 2, 1953, whereby J. P. Seroyer's Salary was set at \$221.50 per month without expense allowance. All voted aye. A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Coward, that the Commissioners' Court request the State Highway Department to abandon and discontinue maintenance on F. M. Highway #110 on Washington Street from the Junction at U. S. 67 on East Henderson Street, Extending South on Washington Street to a point at the Southeast corner of the Cleburne Cemetery, and in lieu thereof assume maintenance on a section beginning at the Junction at State Highway 171 on South Main Street and extending East on East 2nd Street to the Southeast corner of the Cleburne Cemetery. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Coward, Seconded by Commissioner Evans, that the bid of Buford Sharp Motor Co. on the purchase of a car for the Sheriff's Dept. be accepted as follows: New 1953 Ford Mainline Fordor Sedan equipped with an 8 cylinder 110 horsepower V8 motor, positive action windshield wipers, 5-670-4 ply. Tires delivered in Cleburne as follows:

| 1953 Mainline Fordor | 1836.50 | (Federal Tax excluded) |
|----------------------|----------------|--------------------------|
| Recirculating heater | 43.70 | |
| Total | 1880.20 | |
| Less trade-in | 882.20 | Net difference \$998.00. |
| Plus overdrive. | All voted aye. | |

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Evans, that the following named person be appointed election Judges in their respective voting precincts for a one year term, 1953, to hold County wide special and General elections in Johnson County.

All voted aye. They are as follows:

ELECTION JUDGES, 1953

| Prect. No. & Location | Name | Address |
|-----------------------|-----------------------|--------------------------|
| 1. Courthouse | Mrs. Imogene Mitchell | 202 Adams, Cleburne, Tex |
| 2. Courthouse | Mrs. H.C. Harris | Rt. 3, Cleburne, Tex |
| 3. Courthouse | Mrs. E. W. Rawls | 1107 E. Henderson, Cleb |
| 4. Courthouse | E. L. Harris | Rt. 1, Cleburne, Texas |
| 5. Rio Vista | W. H. Smith | Rio Vista |
| 6. Brazos Valley | Mrs. L. E. Wilbanks | Rt. 2, Cleburne, |
| 7. Bono | H. J. Dickey | Route, Godley |
| 8. Lone Willow | Will Roden | Rt. 2, Cleburne, |
| 9. Cresson | G. W. Smith | Cresson |
| 10. Godley | A. D. Smith | Godley |
| 11. Joshua | P. C. Turner | Joshua |
| 12. Burleson | Carl Booth, Sr. | Burleson |
| 13. Egan | Mrs. E. K. Richardson | Egan |
| 14. Lillian | E. D. James | Route, Alvarado |
| 15. Lone Star | J. W. Patterson | Route, Venus, |
| 16. Venus | Haskell Dean | Venus |
| 17. Grandview | R. L. Carter | Grandview |
| 18. Grandview | G. W. Benton | Grandview |
| 19. Barnesville | D. A. Harbison | Route, Grandview |
| 20. Alvarado | D. N. Shropshire | Alvarado |
| 21. Alvarado | Mrs. Lola Bowden | Alvarado |
| 22. Highland | Lee Ince | Rt. 2, Cleburne |

| 23. | Parker | Mrs. M. Hassell | Route, Grandview |
|-----|-------------------|--------------------|--------------------------|
| 24. | Keene | W. H. Duncan | Keene |
| 25. | Jr. High | W. S. Ownsby | 407 Prairie, Cleburne |
| 26. | Sr. High | Mrs. Nell Barr | 113 N Douglas, Cleburne, |
| 27. | J. N. Long School | Mrs. A. F. Gibson | 302 N Douglas, Cleburne, |
| 28. | Irving School | Mrs. J. T. Joplin | 522 N Main, Cleburne, |
| 29. | City Hall | Mrs. W. A. Sanders | Cleburne, |
| 30. | Co. Clerk Office | Louis B. Lee | Courthouse |

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, Seconded by Commissioner Coward, that the Commissioners' Court accept as complete and satisfactory the East wing addition to the Johnson County Memorial Hospital, constructed under contract by the Browder Construction Company. All voted aye.

ATTEST:

COUNTY CLERK COUNTY JUDGE

...000000..