April 12, 1943

THE STATE OF TEXAS ()

COUNTY OF JOHNSON ()

BE IT REMEMBERED, that at a Regular Meeting of the Commissioners' Court of Johnson County, Texas, held on the 12th day of April A. D. 1943, the following members were present: Honorable Roy Anderson, County Judge, Commissioner Roy Wyatt, Precinct #1, Commissioner H. Olin Hadley, Precinct #2, Commissioner Dallas Thompson, Precinct #3, Commissioner M. W. Roland Precinct #4, and A. T. Griffin County Clerk. The following proceedings were had:

A motion was made by Commissioner Thompson and seconded by Commissioner Roland that the report of the County Treasurer be approved. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Hadley and seconded by Commissioner Thompson that J. L. Bowman Jr. be appointed as constable to fill the unexpired term of J. L. Bowman deceased, Constable of Precinct #3. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland vote "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Thompson and seconded by Commissioner Hadley that all properly approved bills be allowed and paid. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Hadley and seconded by Commissioner Thompson that the Tax Assessor and Collector be authorized to reassess the taxes on Lots 3 & 4, Block 17 of Godley, Texas for all years delinquent and to accept \$35.00 in full payment for all years delinquent on said lot. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt and seconded by Commissioner Thompson that Dr. Lee Yater be appointed County Health Officer. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye". A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Wyatt that the County Auditor be authorized to advertise for bids for a car for the Sheriff's Department with trade-in of a 1941 Chevrolet owned by the Sheriff's Department, the bids to be submitted and opened on May 1, 1943 at 10:00 a.m. The Commissioners' Court reserves the right to reject any and all bids. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt and seconded by Commissioner Roland that the petition of Neal Warren and others for opening up a road 3rd class through the Barbussar and Hammer farms be refused. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt, seconded by Commissioner Hadley that W. Roy Anderson, County Judge, be authorized and empowered to execute for the County, an agreement with Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway Company and The State of Texas, pertaining to the construction and maintenance of a public road on a certain portion of the property of said Railway Company at or near Cleburne, in the County of Johnson. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and Roland voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Thompson and seconded by Commissioner Wyatt that the returns of School Trustee Election held April 3, 1943 having been canvassed are declared to show the following:

1. Lone Star	Bob Wilson O. C. Roden	5 3
 Truelove (2 to be elected) 	Kate Ezell Jake Holms Reubin Davis Sam Woolard	3 3 4 5
4. Cotton Valley	V. V. Jones Chester Goad	4 2
5. Bethel	Charlie Williams Tom Parker	7 1

LOCAL SCHOOL TRUSTEES ELECTED APRIL 3, 1943

6. Barnesville	Lewis J. Odom	10
7. Prairie Grove	C. E. McEachern A. A. Phillips M. J. Davis	1 1 3
9. Willow Springs	Raymond Williams	4
10. Center League	no report	
11. Cahill	C. A. Summerlin Melvin Jackson Lyman Boyd W. C. Teague	4 3 2 2
12. Thompson	S. D. Bradley Herman Thomas	8 8
17. Antioch	J. H. Basham B. E. Tatum	3 8
19. Island Grove	V. R. Harless O. H. Jacobs A. E. Gray L. J. Tomkins	2 2 1 1
20. Bethesda	Grant Lewis W. H. Decker C. A. Brown Hale	4 3 1 1
24. Mary's Hill	T. G. Eakin J. M. Collins I. H. Bandy	1 5 1
26. Fairview	No report	
27. Meredith	R. D. Cashion J. H. Harris	2 1
28. Cresson	Roy Puteet Frank Scarboro	4 1
30. Hopewell	G. A. Beene Jim Bonham	7 2
31. Greenfield	Marvin Miller Raymond Matthews	8 7

32. Cuba	Jack Horton Orville Van Zandt	8 3
33. Liberty Chapel	R. B. Beasley Jessie Neff	8 4
34. Friendship	J. V. Masters J. T. Gordon	26 9
37. Rock Tank	C. C. Priest W. B. Basham Ed Shelton J. S. Gatlin	1 1 5 1
38. Reece Prairie (2 to be elected)	G. A. Fortenberry Cleve Smith J. A. Bransom W. R. Farriss O. T. Tice Creed Hardy A. J. Bates G. N. Allen	1 1 1 2 1 1 2
39. Rock Creek	S. W. Evans S. O. Doggett Alvin Flow	8 7 1
40. Caddo Mound	Jeff Hildebrand A. N. May J. W. Walker	13 12 11
41. Mt. Carmel	John A. Atchley J. C. Ball Tom L. Frady J. E. Johnson	1 1 3 1
44. Midway	B. C. Gibson Ben West A. T. Keaton	3 3 4
46. Bruce	J. D. Franklin	8
50. Eureka	no report	
54. Bono	Bill Jowell Bill Jones	4 4

55. West Fork	Edgar Johnson L. A. Murphey Nick Roof S. E. Waldrip	11 12 10 9
56. Brazos Valley	S. E. Harrell	6
57. Lone Cottonwood	no election	
59. Highland	Lee Ince	11
60. Lone Willow	C. T. Hewlett W. S. Carper	7 3
62. Bethany	Phil Huey W. A. Moore	14 17
64. Graham	no election	
68. Egan	no election	
70. West Liberty	E. West J. J. Thomas	4 4
71. Perryville	Lewis Barnes J. H. Atkinson	5 4
72. Pleasant View	F. L. Kirtley Ross Decker	6 2
80. Hines	Joe Marr Dal Hudson	4 1
90. Burton	no election	
91. Burton	no election	
INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICTS		
Parker	Joe Nunn Marion Hassell A. A. Ratliff	6 6 5
Godley	no report	
Keene	Perry Canton Paul Thompson	3 3

Grandview (2 to be elected)	H. W. Pitts Tom Ellis A. J. Ingle	82 82 2
Lillian (2 to be elected)	E. S. Casstevens R. H. Vickers John Lindley Raymond Toomer O. E. Whitehead B. M. Hart	15 7 2 4 3 3
Rio Vista	H. L. Hall J. M. Carmichael D. L. Tolbert M. A. Hardwick Arliss Coffman	20 2 9 1 21

No reports from Center League, Fairview and Eureka No elections in Lone Cottonwood, Graham, Egan, Pecan Grove, Egan and Godley

Burleson Independent School District	C. L. Booth	11
(3 to be elected)	R. W. Haynes	11
	O. B. Garrett	12

COUNTY SCHOOL TRUSTEES Elected April 3, 1943

J. W. Hassell received 191 votes for County Trustee at Large John Kennon received 32 votes for Precinct 1 Bob Carter received 52 votes for Precinct 4 Joe Faulkenberry 1 vote Lon Bishop 2 votes

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Hadley that the

Court adjourn subject to the call of the County Judge. Commissioners Wyatt, Hadley, Thompson and

Roland voted "Aye".

Attest:	County Clerk	County Judge
10000	county cieric	

----00000-----