COUNTY OF JOHNSON

SALARY GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE

BE IT KNOWN that on the 2nd day of September 2014, the Salary Grievance Committee of Johnson County, Texas, met in Session at the Courthouse thereof, in the City of Cleburne, Johnson County, Texas, for the purpose of transacting any and all business that may lawfully be brought before the same. The meeting was called to order at 1:35 P.M., with the following members present: County Judge, Roger Harmon, Committee Chairman; Bob Alford, County Sheriff; Scott Porter, County Tax Assessor-Collector; Debbie Rice, County Treasurer; Becky Williams, County Clerk; David Lloyd, District Clerk; Bill Moore, County Attorney; and three (3) Public Members, Eunice Wohlferd, Wayne Cabansag and Cynthia Campbell; and following the Invocation led by Hank Holbridge, and the following items, having been lawfully posted and filed for record in the Office of the County Clerk on August 28, 2014 at 8:02 A.M., were considered:

II. PUBLIC HEARING

The Salary Grievance Committee opened the Public Hearing at 1:35 P.M. to discuss:

1. PRESENTATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #1, JUDGE RONALD R. MCBROOM AND PRESENTATION OF INFORMATION REGARDING PROPOSED SALARY FOR JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #1, JUDGE RONALD R. MCBROOM

County Judge Roger Harmon made reference to the statute from Local Government Code Section 152 which will govern the Salary Grievance Committee process for today's hearing. Judge Harmon thanked the Committee members for their time and service to the citizens of the County. Judge Harmon then introduced all members of the Salary Grievance

Committee: Cynthia Campbell, Burleson, Texas; Wayne Cabansag, Keene, Texas; Eunice Wohlferd, Burleson, Texas; David Lloyd, District Clerk; Debbie Rice, County Treasurer; Becky Williams, County Clerk; Scott Porter, Tax Assessor-Collector; Bob Alford, Sheriff; and Bill Moore, County Attorney.

Judge Ronald R. McBroom, Justice of the Peace, Precinct #1 introduced himself and made his presentation to the Salary Grievance Committee.

3. PRESENTATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #3, JUDGE PAT JACOBS AND PRESENTATION OF INFORMATION REGARDING PROPOSED SALARY FOR JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #3, JUDGE PAT JACOBS

Judge Pat Jacobs, Justice of the Peace, Precinct #3 introduced herself and made her presentation to the Salary Grievance Committee.

4. PRESENTATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #4, JUDGE JOHNNY BEKKELUND AND PRESENTATION OF INFORMATION REGARDING PROPOSED SALARY FOR JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #4, JUDGE JOHNNY BEKKELUND

Judge Johnny Bekkelund, Justice of the Peace, Precinct #4 introduced himself and made his presentation to the Salary Grievance Committee.

2. PRESENTATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #2, JUDGE JEFF MONK AND PRESENTATION OF INFORMATION REGARDING PROPOSED SALARY FOR JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT #2, JUDGE JEFF MONK

Judge Jeff Monk, Justice of the Peace, Precinct #2 introduced himself and made his presentation to the Salary Grievance Committee.

Audience members then addressed the Salary Grievance Committee, and they were: Hank Holbridge, Commissioner Kenny Howell, Precinct #2, and Commissioner Jerry Stringer, Precinct #3.

The Salary Grievance Committee recessed at 3:15 P.M. and reconvened at 3:27

Commissioner Rick Bailey, Precinct #1, also an audience member, addressed the Salary Grievance Committee. Several Committee members asked questions of the Justices of the Peace and of County Judge Roger Harmon, Chairman of the Salary Grievance Committee.

The hearing was closed at 3:58 P.M.

III. ACTION ITEMS

P.M.

- 1. <u>CONSIDERATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE</u> PEACE, PRECINCT #1, JUDGE RONALD R. MCBROOM
- 2. <u>CONSIDERATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE</u> PEACE, PRECINCT #2, JUDGE JEFF MONK
- 3. <u>CONSIDERATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE</u> PEACE, PRECINCT #3, JUDGE PAT JACOBS
- 4. <u>CONSIDERATION OF SALARY GRIEVANCE FILED BY JUSTICE OF THE</u> PEACE, PRECINCT #4, JUDGE JOHNNY BEKKELUND

One vote was taken and was to be effective for all four (4) Justices of the Peace.

The result of the vote is as follows:

David Lloyd – No – Recommendation: \$5,000.00 increase in salary.

Scott Porter – No – Recommendation: \$5,000.00 increase in salary.

Bob Alford – No – Recommendation: \$5,000.00 increase in salary.

Wayne Cabansag – No.

Bill Moore – No.

Eunice Wohlferd – Yes.

Debbie Rice – Yes.

Becky Williams – Yes.

Cynthia Campbell – Yes.

Committee Chairman, Roger Harmon announced that based on the tally of the votes cast, an increase was denied.

There being no further business before the Salary Grievance Committee concerning this agenda, the Salary Grievance Committee adjourned at 4:03 P.M. on the same date.

Submitted by:	
	Becky Williams
	County Clerk
Approved by:	
•	Roger Harmon
	County Judge