THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF JOHNSON

APRIL 10, 1961

BE IT REMEMBERED at a regular meeting of the Commissioners' Court on the above mentioned date at the Courthouse in Cleburne, Texas, the following members were present: Ted W. Myatt, County Judge; W.M. Coward, Commissioner of Precinct No.1; S. W. Evans, Commissioner of Precinct No.2; J. C. Rayburne, Commissioner of Precinct No.3; M. W. Roland, Commissioner of Precinct No. 4; Louis B. Lee, County Clerk, and J. T. Epperson, Jr., County Auditor.

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Coward that all bills against Johnson County be allowed and ordered paid as submitted, and properly endorsed.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Coward that the Johnson County Sheriff be authorized to use County Jail prisoners for work on county roads, under the supervision of a special guard to be employed by the county selected by the Sheriff, at a salary of not more than \$200.00 per month. The Commissioners will work with the Sheriff and the prison guard, and designate the roads and other type of work to be done in their separate precincts. The salary of the guard will be paid in equal amounts form the funds of the four commissioners. Be it further agreed and understood, that this work arrangements with county prisoners, the commissioners and all concerned, will be for a 4 month period, as a trial plan only, unless extended by order of court.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Evans and seconded by Commissioner Coward that T. F. Yater, M.D. be re-appointed Johnson County Health Officer for a 2 year term, effective April 12, 1961 to April 12, 1963.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Evans that the monthly financial report of the Johnson County Memorial Hospital for March 1961 be approved as submitted.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Evans and seconded by Commissioner Coward that Attorney Robt. M. Mahanay be authorized to bring suit against Mary Russell Nelson, her husband and any other necessary parties, to recover damages for the destruction of a County bridge, located in Commissioner Precinct 2, said act occurring in December 1960.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland and seconded by Commissioner Evans that the returns of the Special Senatorial Election held April 4^{th} , 1961 be declared correct and the clerk shall record results in Election Record.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Coward and seconded by Commissioner Evans that the County Auditor be authorized to advertise for bids for one crawler type tractor with front end loader, 1 ½ yard bucket, 50 or more H. P. for Precinct No. 1. Less trade in of one TD 9 Crawler type, 1 ½ yd. bucket, front end loader.

All voted aye

A motion was made by Commissioner Coward and seconded by Commissioner Evans that the convess of various School Trustee Election in the County was made, and that the following results be declared correct.

All voted aye

SCHOOL TRUSTEE ELECTION

April 1, 1961

FRIENDSHIP COMMON SCHOOL DISTRICT #34			
TRUSTEE: A. E. Gatton	50		
J. D. Ledbetter	24		
(1 to be elected)			
COUNTY TRUSTEE - PRECINCT #4:			
W. C. Cottingame	32		
Slim Rowland	1		
COUNTY AT LARGE: B. J. Jackson	39		
LIBERTY CHAPEL COMMON SCHOOL DISTRICT #33			
TRUSTEE: Bill Fergason	8		
(1 to be elected)			
COUNTY AT LARGE: B. J. Jackson	8		
CRESSON COMMON SCHOOL DISTRICT #28			
TRUSTEE: G. B. Bankhead	11		
(1 to be elected)			
COUNTY AT LARGE: B. J. Jackson	11		

PARKER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

TRUSTEE:	William R. Mitchell	10	
	A. N. Rudolph	8	
	B. F. Stout	10	
	Robert Rice	2	
	(3 to be elected)		
COUNTY TRU	JSTEE - PRECINCT #1: John T. Kennon	0	
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0	
LILLIAN INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT			
TRUSTEE:	Mark Huffman	3	
	Arthur Mears	4	
	Harold Gene Renfro	9	
	Carrell Shaw	10	
	(2 to be elected)		
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0	
KEENE INDE	PENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT		
TRUSTEE:	John Borton	40	
	Ralph Wetmore	30	
	Billy M. Livingston	10	
	Gilley	1	
	J. N. Janes	6	
	(2 to be elected)		
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0	
JOSHUA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT			
TRUSTEE:	Earl Newsome	180	
	D. M. Terry	161	
	James C. Buchanan	42	
	John F. Clements	26	
	H. B. Ernest	36	
	Jess Lockett	1	
	Vernon Brooks	1	
	(2 to be elected)		
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0	

GRANDVIEW INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

TRUSTEE:	James Gaston	39
	Jack Johnston	38
	George Van Zandt	39
	James Rollen	1
	(3 to be elected)	
COUNTY TRU	JSTEE - PRECINCT #4:W. C. Cottingame	38
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	39
VENUS INDE	PENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT	
TRUSTEE:	Clifford Holder	44
	Walter Carlisle	22
	Hugh Payne	20
	Haskell Dean	2
	Ben Burgess	3
	(2 to be elected)	
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0
GODLEY IND	DEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT	
TRUSTEE:	W. B. Miller	61
	Jim Myers	28
	Bill Hopper	55
	Robert Smelley	63
	Dillard Crook	46
	(3 to be elected)	
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0
RIO VISTA	INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT	
TRUSTEE:	Troy Burnett	24
	C. C. Carper	24
	(2 to be elected)	
COUNTY AT	LARGE: B. J. Jackson	0
COUNTY TRU	JSTEE - PRECINCT #1: John T. Kennon	0
TOTAL VOTE	S FOR COUNTY BOARD - PRECINCT #1: John T. Kennon	0
TOTAL VOTE	S FOR COUNTY BOARD - PRECINCT #4: W. C. Cottingame Slim Rowland	60 1
TOTAL VOTE	S FOR COUNTY AT LARGE: B.J. Jackson	97

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS COURT IS HEREBY ADJOURNED.

COUNTY CLERK

COUNTY JUDGE

...0000000...

_