THE STATE OF TEXAS : APRIL 12, 1948

COUNTY OF JOHNSON :

BE IT REMEMBERED that at a Regular Meeting of the Commissioners' Court of Johnson County,

Texas, held on the 12<sup>th</sup> day of April, 1948, the following members were present: Honorable H. G.

Littlefair, County Judge, Commissioner Wyatt, Precinct # 1, Commissioner Evans, Precinct #2,

Commissioner Maddox, Precinct # 3, Commissioner Roland, Precinct #4, and Louis B. Lee, County Clerk.

Among other things, they did the following:

A motion was made by Commissioner Roland, seconded by Commissioner Wyatt, that all proper and endorsed bills be allowed and ordered paid as submitted. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt, seconded by Commissioner Evans, that the resignation of Noel Wofford as Deputy Sheriff of Johnson County, be accepted as of March 31, 1948.

Mr. Alf Bowers was appointed by Sheriff Houston Walling as a deputy sheriff and the Commissioners' Court hereby approves the appointment of Alf Bowers as Deputy Sheriff of Johnson County, effective April 1<sup>st</sup>, 1948, at a salary of \$1920.00 per year, to be paid in equal monthly payments of \$160.00 each. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Evans, seconded by Commissioner Maddox, that the amount of \$40.55 be accepted as full payment of taxes on lots 5 to 13, Block 17, City of Godley, assessed against Mrs. Ada Bishop. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt, seconded by Commissioner Maddox that the riot and civil commotion insurance policy on the Johnson County Court House in the amount of \$100,000.00 be cancelled at expiration date of April 15, 1948, and that it not be rewritten. All voted aye.

A motion was made by Commissioner Evans, seconded by Commissioner Maddox, that the first quarterly report for 1948 of G. E. Davis, County Treasurer, be approved as submitted. All voted aye.

This date the Commissioners' Court inspected the County Jail and found it to be clean and well kept. It was noted that the steel window and door frames are accumulating rust, caused from moisture seeping in between frames and brick structure. It was also noted that window closing devices were broken and in need of repair. It was noted the window and door screens were torn in some places and in need of repair.

A motion was made by Commissioner Wyatt and seconded by Commissioner Evans that the returns of the School Trustee Elections held on April 3, 1948 have been canvassed and the results are declared as follows:

1.	Fairview	#26	Byron Bast	10)	
			R. O. Clowdus	11)	
			R. McGowen	1)	
			F. House	3)	Elect 3
			E. R. Floyd	9)	
			H. Scarberry	7)	
			A. A. Head	1)	
			C. E. Bast	3)	
2.	Hopewell	#30	J. R. Towzen	2 )	
			Guy Beene	3)	Elect 1
			Merritt Dillard	1)	
3.	Lillian		Harold Brown	40)	
			Harrell Shaw	48)	
			P. M. Odom	10)	Elect 3

			Jack Hill	41)	
			J. D. Hudson	14)	
			W. H. Matthews	3)	
			R. C. Scott	1)	
			B. M. Hart	2)	
4.	Meredith	#27	J. P. Bryant	4	
5.	Liberty Chapel	#33	W. H. Davidson	6)	Elect 1
			Duey Germany	1)	
6.	Mt. Carmel	#41	O. E. Williams	4)	
			T. L. Frady	1)	Elect 1
			Walter W. Graff	6)	
7.	Truelove	#2	T. P. Kendrick	5)	
			W. I. Boteler	5)	Elect 2
			Webb England	2)	
8.	Highland	#59	Wade Blackstock	8)	
			Roberty Robinson	4 )	Elect 1
			L. W. Callahan	7)	
9.	Cresson	#28	Calvin C. Fidler	5	
10.	Cahill	#11	Mrs. Jess Roberson	5)	Elect 1
			Fred Yarbrough	1)	
11.	Rock Tank	#37	John L. Irby	4 )	Elect 1
			George Vanzant	6)	

12.	Brazos Valley	#56	M. E. Hudson	11)	Elect 1
			J. J. Perkins	1)	
13.	Bono	#54	Eaphy Southerland	16	
14.	Cuba	#32	Marshall Russell	3 )	
			W. D. Sherill	1)	
			Raymond Rose	3)	Elect 1
15.	Island Grove	#19	J. P. Smalley	7)	Elect 2
			O. E. Favor, Jr.	7)	
16.	Keene	#24	A. R. Schad	11)	
			John Tucker	11)	Elect 3
			Tom Olive	11)	
17.	Godley		Tom Reynolds	1)	
			Lawrence Berry	2)	
			Edwards Reynolds	2)	
			George Tibbs	1)	
			Paul Buttrell	1)	Elect 2
			A. B. Freeland, Jr.	2 )	
			Johnny Steward	5)	
			Robert Savage	1)	
			D. E. Smith	69)	
			E. C. Whitehead	68)	
10	From	#60	Nabla Waad	10)	
18.	Egan	#68	Noble Wood	10)	Flori 2
			S. T. Pyburn	9)	Elect 2
			J. L. Hughes	8)	

			C. A. Collins	7)	
19.	Rio Vista		T. O. Teitz	27)	
			F. A. Pickens	29)	
			C. D. Johnson	42)	Elect 2
			H. F. Meek	41)	
			M. F. Gilbert	32)	
			E. N. Lacewell	43)	
			Seaburne Willis	1)	
			Ray Brewer	1)	
20.	Cotton Valley	#4	W. H. Wheeler	18)	Elect 1
			D. Crawford	6)	
21.	Barnesville	#6	J. L. Clements	13)	
			Floy Henson	1)	Elect 1
22.	Grandview		Raymond G. Barry	44)	
			J. F. Sheets, Sr.	44)	
			Luke Hughes	43)	Elect 3
			S. E. McDuff	1)	
23.	Friendship	#34	John Gordon	14)	Elect 1
			J. E. Johnson	1)	
24.	Thompson	#12	Nick Piekoff	15	
25.	Parker		Floyd Hays	21)	
			Floyd Taylor	17)	Elect 2
			Herman Thomas	20)	
			Homer Ince	21)	

			Charles Throckmorton	2)				
26.	Willow Springs	#9	E. A. Teague	6)	Elect 1			
			K. P. Durrington	18)				
27.	Burleson		R. M. Keys	75)				
			R. J. Sutton	54)				
			C. A. (Buster) Godfrey	52)	Elect 2			
			T. T. Hardgrove	40)				
28.	Antioch	#17	No votes cast					
29.	Bethesda	#20	H. A. Jewett	4 )	Elect 1			
			W. H. D	1)				
30.	Greenfield	#30	Plummer Martin	8)	Elect 1			
			C. Wilkerson	1)				
County School Trustees:								
For Trustee Precinct No. 3								
	W. A. Bishop – 55							
For County Trustees								
Trustee Precinct No. 2								
J. D. Franklin – 25								
J. A. Riggs – 58								
Paul Bu	ttrell – 1							

Attest: \_\_\_\_\_County Clerk \_\_\_\_\_County Judge ...ooOoo...